Oldfield Award

Deadline Extended 

The Oldfield Award is open to UK students and international students.

There are cash prizes for 1st 2nd and 3rd.

It is presented for research projects carried out by either undergraduate or taught masters students.

The subject of the project can be any experimental, theoretical or practical work related to amorphous solids, glasses, glass-ceramics or sol-gel materials, glass history and archaeology or glass arts, technology or design.  Reports not dealing entirely with glass should spell out the relevance of the subject to the science, technology or arts of glass.

This can include fundamental science, applied science, arts, technology and engineering.

It should be work completed within the twelve months prior to the June submission and presented in English.


  • Final-year undergraduate project theses.
  • Taught masters theses.
  • Reports from sandwich projects or placements/internships.
  • Summer projects in a research group.
  • Research projects by Erasmus or other exchange students.

The Institution at which the student is registered should:

Encourage students to have their projects considered for the awards. The supervisor should nominate candidates from amongst these students for an award.

The supervisor is invited to submit a copy of the project report from the selected student, as a pdf file in English, to the Society by 30th June in the submission year. The report should be that which is submitted to the Institution for credit in that academic year and
should be accompanied by documentation completed by the supervisor indicating:
– the academic level at which the work was undertaken (year of study, qualification aim),
– the full-time equivalent time the student would have spent on it (x nominal hours for y weeks), and
– the fraction of the academic year’s credit (x out of y credits for the year) Please also include the instructions normally issued to students for completion of their project, e.g. a link to a module information sheet or laboratory website on the internet.

The administration of the Oldfield Award will be by the Basic Science and Technology Committee. Judging of the reports will take place during July of the submission year and will be done by a panel of academics and industrialists using referees from the appropriate fields. The final arbiter of the awards will be the Board of Fellows of the Society. The award winners will also receive free student membership of the Society up to the end of the following year. The first place award will be made during the Society of Glass Technology’s Annual Conference – usually in September, for which the winner will be awarded free registration. The Institution at which the student is registered should contact the SGT.


Submission form

Oldfield Award Winners 2017

Amy receiving her award

1st – Amy Rider, University of Nottingham
Investigations into Archaeological Glass using Solid-State NMR

2nd – Louis Longley, University of Cambridge,Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy
Synthesis, Characterisation and Properties of A New Family of Chemically Tunable Hybrid Glasses

3rd – Liam Mendes, Univeristy of Nottingham, Faculty of Engineering,
Bioactive Phosphate-Based Glass Formulations

View previous Oldfield Award Winners